Boards & Committees

Boards & Committees

Boards and Committees

The City of New Port Richey has numerous volunteer boards and committees in which members serve to make recommendations to the City Council. Members are appointed by the Council upon review of a completed Board Membership Application Formopens in a new window.  To be eligible to serve on a city board or committee, you must be a registered voter and reside within the city limits with the exception of the Library Advisory Board which allows for a member to be a resident of Pasco County and the Cultural Affairs Committee which allows for a member to own a business within the city limits. Are you already a member and just need to renew your appointment? Click hereopens in a new window for the re-appointment application. For current board/committee openings, please contact the designated staff liaison listed below.

The following are New Port Richey’s boards and committees:

  • Cultural Affairs Committee
  • Environmental Committee
  • Firefighters’ Pension Board of Trustees
  • Historic Preservation Board
  • Land Development Review Board
  • Library Advisory Board
  • Parks and Recreation Advisory Board
  • Police Pension Board of Trustees



New Port Richey Fire Comparative Performance

Records Request Notice – Firefighters Pension Board

Division of Retirement Actuarial Summary Fact Sheet for the Plan   

Records Request Notice – Police Pension Board

2023 NPR Police Pension Financial Statementsopens in a new window

2023 NPR Police Pension 60t SB 534 Disclosureopens in a new window

2023 NPR Police Pension Chapter 112.664 Compliance Reportopens in a new window

2023 NPR Police Pension Actuarial Valuation Reportopens in a new window

The New Port Richey Police Pension System’s funded ratio as determined in the most recent actuarial valuation: 108.3% on a market Value of assets basis as of October 1, 2023.

Division of Retirement Actuarial Summary Fact Sheet


Cultural Affairs Committee

The Cultural Affairs Committee makes recommendations and advises the City Council regarding financial sponsorship and creation of activities promoting City residents’ cultural education and recreation. All members must be registered voters, and will serve for two years. Meetings are held on the third Wednesday of every month at 6:30 pm at the Library.

Staff Liaison: Andi Figart

Current Members:

Richard Melton (Chair)

Kelly Smallwood

Anna Mae McNally (Secretary)

Kimberly Brust

Beth Fregger

Eric Mullins

David P. Folds, III

Environmental Committee

The Environmental Committee offers advisory opinions and recommendations to the City Council on environmental issues facing the city, serves as the planning committee for the City’s major environmental events, and explores new environmental initiatives. There are seven regular and two alternate members, and all are City residents with two year appointments. Meetings are held on the first Thursday of every month at 6:00 pm at the Library.

CG_AgRegistration copy – Updated – 06.05.23

Staff Liaison: Andi Figart

Current Members:

Dell deChant (Chair)

Rose Mohr (Vice-Chair)

Linda Blake

Amber Blais

Tia Rowe

Thomas O’Neill

Rob Marlowe


Historic Preservation Board

The Historic Preservation Board is chartered with the power, authority and jurisdiction to regulate and administer historical, archaeological and architectural resources in the City and to recommend resources for historic designation to the City Council. The Board shall consist of nine members and two alternate members, all of whom shall be residents of the City. Terms shall be for two or three years. Members of the Board shall preferably have knowledge of architecture, history, and/or the historical or architectural development of the City, or at minimum, have a deep concern for historic preservation, development and enhancement of the City’s historical resources. Members shall be from the disciplines of architecture, history, architectural history, planning, art history, archaeology, American studies, American civilization, cultural geography, cultural anthropology, real estate, building construction, or other historic preservation related disciplines. Persons who have demonstrated experience, special interest, or knowledge in history, architecture or related disciplines shall make up the balance of the board when such professionals are not available for appointment to the Board. Meetings are suspended until further notice.


Land Development Review Board

The Land Development Review Board offers advisory opinions and recommendations to the City Council on matters involving the development of land within the City limits, and assists in preparation and amendment of the Comprehensive Plan, the Land Development Code, and property variances. Members receive three-year appointments. Meetings are held on the third Thursday of every month at 2:00 pm in City Hall Council Chambers.

Staff Liaison: TBD

Current Members:

Donald Ivan Cadle, Jr.

John R. Grey

Daniel Maysilles

Robert (Bob) Smallwood

Beverly Barnett

Alan Safranek, III

George Romagnoli

Marilynn deChant (Alternate)


Library Advisory Board

The Library Advisory Board advises and assists the Library Director with library long-range planning, preparation of policies and procedures for the library, and submits reports to the Library Director and the City Council upon request. They may accept donations on behalf of the library. They serve three-year terms. Meetings are held on the fourth Monday of every month at 9:30 am in the Library Meeting Room.  Email for Information.

Staff Liaison: Andi Figart

Current Members:

Ronald Becker, Chair

Nancy Cote, Secretary

Helen “Jayne” Brewin

Marcia Mihall (County resident)

Ronald Becker

Joan Nelson Hook, Esq.

Bonnie M. Martin

Nicholas Pacini (County resident)

Renee Tyner

Lewis Curtwright

Parks and Recreation Advisory Board

This Board advises the City Council on the use of City parks, and promotes the use of City recreational facilities. Also, the Parks and Recreation Board assists the Director of Parks and Recreation in planning, promoting, and conducting recreational projects for citizens and visitors. Members serve for three years. Meetings are held on the second Tuesday of each month at 7 am at the Recreation and Aquatic Center. Email for Information.

Staff Liaison: Andre Julien

Current Members:

David Schrader (chairman)

Carolyn Marlowe

Rob Oman

Launi Schmutz-Harden

Stephen Blanchard



Firefighters’ and Police Pension Boards

The Firefighters’ and Police Pension Boards determine the amount of all retirement allowances or other benefits for their respective groups.  The Boards also receive and process all applications for benefits.

Firefighters’ Pension Board

Staff Liaison: Karen Lauer

Current Members:

Joe Fiorentino, Chairman

Bob Langford, Secretary

Keith Bauer (Department-elected)

Evan DeVore (Department-elected)

David Dorsey (Board-elected)


Police Pension Board

Pension Administrator: T. Scott Baker

Current Members:

Glenwood Pratt, Chairman

Sergeant Timothy Berge, Secretary/Treasurer (Department elected)

Sergeant Gregory Williams (Department elected)

Heather Fiorentino (City-appointed, City resident)